An agreement in principle has been reached between the council and teaching union EIS to resolve the secondary school teacher dispute in West Dunbartonshire.

The deal arises from extended negotiations today and follows on from discussions earlier this week between the Council Administration, EIS and Management.

Teachers will now be balloted on the new proposals.

The agreement will see a new Curriculum Leadership structure introduced based upon the key role of subject principal teachers.

Larry Flanagan, General Secretary of the EIS, told the Reporter: “Following talks we are pleased to have arrived at a situation where we are able to recommend to our members acceptance of a proposal which will see the vital role of subject Principal Teachers recognised within the new curriculum structure.

“EIS Members have shown a strong commitment throughout this campaign to achieve a model which will continue to deliver a high quality education to West Dunbartonshire pupils. These proposals will facilitate that.

“We are hopeful the proposal will be endorsed by our members who will be keen to get back to teaching and learning across West Dunbartonshire schools.”

Laura Mason, Chief Education Officer, said: “I’m pleased we now have a proposal which takes account of the concerns raised on behalf of teachers, and will enable us to move forward together for our young people.

“Our teachers are fully committed to their roles and ensuring our young people attain and achieve, and I hope this proposal will allow us to resolve the dispute for the benefit of the young people of West Dunbartonshire.”

Councillor Michelle McGinty, convener of Educational Services, said: “It is a really positive step to have agreed a proposal with the aim of settling the dispute.

"That has always been the aim of everyone concerned. It is our hope that teachers will accept this joint proposal which strikes a balance between the Council’s strategy and the concerns of our teaching staff.”

The EIS ballot process will be conducted over the next week and the results will be announced on Thursday evening.