Daniel Finnigan’s extra-time goal sealed St Patrick’s passage to the fourth round of the West Cup, beating Blairdardie United 2-1.

Kevin McElroy opened the scoring in the first half, before missing a chance to double his tally after his penalty was saved.

The visitors bounced back and scored via Collins as the game went to extra time.

But Finnigan was on hand to avoid the game going on to penalties, receiving Currie’s pass before rolling the ball into the net.

St Pat’s had to dig deep against determined visitors.

Collins missed the target just before the home side opened the scoring in the 28th minute.

The move started with Currie winning a midfield battle before leaving Dom McElroy to send over a neat cross where Kevin McElroy was waiting to guide the ball home.

The goal settled the home side but more drama ensued. As Currie drove into the box he was brought down by Gary McKellar and a penalty kick was awarded.

But Kevin McElroy saw his spot kick saved by Thomson.

St Pat’s continued to persist and create a couple of openings were passed up, but just before the break the game took an unexpected turn.

Out of nothing Collins equalised, his shot deflecting off Brian Deeley and finding the net.

It was back to square one for the Dumbarton men and typical of their luck of late.

In the second half the Saints squandered some good opportunities but with extra-time looking likely were nearly hit with a sucker punch. An O’Hara free-kick was magnificently saved by Roache in the Saints goal.

Extra time began and then came a moment to savour.

Showing persistence, Finnigan received the ball from Currie before rolling it passed the advancing keeper.

It was a quality move and finish but the drama was not over yet.

O’Hara rattled the crossbar from another free-kick.  St Pat’s were then able to see the game out and book their place in the next round.

Now their attention turns to the next round of the West, they take on Firhill United on Saturday. 

ST PAT’S: Roache. McIntyre. Gardiner. McIntyre. B Deeley. King. Ruane. D McElroy. Currie. K McElroy. Finnigan. Ward – R Deeley. Hannaway. Allan.