ST PATRICK’s Kevin McElroy and James Gallacher were among the winners at the 2016/17 Scottish AFL Player of the Year presentation evening.

The glittering occasion brought the curtain down on another successful season, with awards handed out to the the young player, divisional player, referee of the year and the main award - the George Dingwall Trophy for the Player of the Year.

St Patrick’s forward McElroy picked up the prestigious league Player of the Year award, as voted for by member clubs and the referee community, while official James Gallacher was awarded the Des McMahon Trophy for Referee of the Year.

McElroy, who finished top of the scoring charts for St Pats’ last term, was presented with the George Dingwall trophy for Player of the Year by SAFA Nation team manager Bruce McNaught.

A club spokesman said: “Given the standard of the competition that compete in the Central Scottish AFL, it was a remarkable achievement but an understandable choice. St Patrick’s FP are particularly proud of the award, with Kevin following in the footsteps of past winners, Darian MacKinnon (2010), Martin Currie (2013) and another local boy Denny AFC’s own James McLaughlin (2004).