SCOTRAIL is warning train travellers to check for disruption on Thursday after today's 24-hour strike.

Many services will not operate, or will only run over part of their usual route, on Thursday as a knock-on effect of Wednesday’s industrial action.

The RMT union announced three days of strike action across the Great Britain railway network resulting from a pay dispute with Network Rail.

The dispute does not involve ScotRail staff but had a major effect on the company’s services because Network Rail staff in Scotland are among those who have walked out.

Many of the Network Rail staff who are part in the planned industrial action occupy safety-critical roles such as signalling and maintenance, meaning ScotRail has been unable to operate the vast majority of services.

ScotRail says that larger signalling centres will not be able to operate until 7.15am on Thursday – meaning that anyone intending to catch an early train on July 28 faces the prospect of disruption.

The company has published a full list of the services it says will be disrupted on the morning of Thursday, July 28.

On the routes north-west of Glasgow, to and from Dalmuir, Balloch and Helensburgh Central, the following services will be disrupted.

Altered services:

0607 Edinburgh-Helensburgh: starts from Yoker at 0748

0625 Helensburgh-Edinburgh: starts from Bathgate at 0756

0637 Edinburgh-Helensburgh: starts from Airdrie at 0734

0654 Helensburgh-Edinburgh: starts from Garscadden at 0727

0659 Whifflet-Dalmuir: starts from Yoker at 0800

0703 Larkhall-Dalmuir: starts from Yoker at 0815

0709 Dalmuir-Motherwell: starts from Garscadden at 0718

0717 Dalmuir-Larkhall: starts from Hyndland at 0735

0730 Dalmuir-Cumbernauld: starts from Hyndland at 0745

0738 Balloch-Airdrie: starts from Hyndland at 0817

0739 Dalmuir-Whifflet: starts from Garscadden at 0748

0841 Airdrie-Balloch: starts from Dalmuir at 0910

Cancelled services:

0532 Airdrie-Helensburgh

0547, 0617 and 0647 Dalmuir-Larkhall

0547, 0556, 0617 and 0624 Motherwell-Dalmuir

0552 Dalmuir-Edinburgh

0554 Helensburgh-Edinburgh

0601 Dalmuir-Airdrie

0601 and 0633 Larkhall-Dalmuir

0608, 0638 and 0708 Balloch-Airdrie

0609 and 0700 Dalmuir-Motherwell

0611 and 0637 Dalmuir-Balloch

0615, 0644, 0714 and 0844 Airdrie-Balloch

0617 Cumbernauld-Dalmuir

0619 Bathgate-Helensburgh

0640 Dalmuir-Whifflet

0649 Dalmuir-Helensburgh

Further 24-hour strikes by the RMT are planned for Thursday, August 18 and Saturday, August 20.

For full details of disrupted services across the whole of the ScotRail network on Thursday, click here.